And Then I Went to Kathmandu

So, we’ve had another whirlwind week here in Nepal and I’m flying today to Delhi with a quick turnaround back through customs to collect my bag, go back through security, and check into my flight to Sydney. Wild times. I’m probably scheduling this post to publish ahead of time since it’ll likely be very hectic. I think this will be just the second time I’ve ever done that!

Anyway, Nepal. A few days in Kathmandu, much like a few days in Delhi, is not enough to really say anything about the country. But still, it’s been a wonderful experience to get a glimpse of life here and all kinds of things useful for my job–a huge part of which is talking about these countries and programs. I cannot say how valuable this trip has been on that front alone, besides just being super cool and lovely to talk with students and staff. A lot of what prospective students want to talk with me about is vibes and now I feel like I have a better handle on the vibes, more than just the info that I’ve heretofore been talking about.

I arrived Saturday evening and kind of just holed up in bed, big thrills. On Sunday, nothing was organized in terms of work because it was Holi in Nepal so I walked through the city and just generally got a vibe. I saw the Buddha Stupa and walked all the way to the main Durbar Square (apparently, there are a few) and saw plenty of people playing Holi and they mercifully left me out, according to my wish, without my having to say. I was perfectly happy to observe and it was still fun!

The next three days I spent hanging out at our two program centers, chatting with students and staff, visiting some places with programs, and doing my actual work that doesn’t stop. The weather was cooler than Delhi with a little rain, too, and that was refreshing and lovely since it was still at least warm-ish to me. The air quality, as in Delhi, left much to be desired but I managed just fine.


These last two weeks that I’ve been out and about gave been really lovely. I’ve had some great food and interesting conversations, seen some wonderful sights, met some rad people. I’m not going to adequately write about it, now or in the future, but especially not while I’m still in the midst of it. I’m also often not great at sharing about my experiences so please don’t hesitate to ask if you have some specific questions to give my answers a little direction.

An example of a good question might be: What is this a picture of?

Leave a comment