The Wand Chooses the Wizard

Certain someones were not pleased with the cat omission last week, so I thought I’d settle that right off the bat. Bubba, being precious in front of the Christmas tree (and you can even, like, see his face) and then me enjoying some two-cat love.

bubba2016-12-31

bubbacamaro2016-12-31

I hope 2017 is off to a reasonable start for you. We woke up to a lovely coating of snow and had a white New Year’s Day, I guess, in lieu of a white Christmas.

Over the past several weeks, my family and I have been rewatching the Harry Potter movies (I also plan to reread the books). I just really, really enjoy them. They’re not perfect (especially episode V) but they’re great nonetheless. There’s so much to them that resonates with me and that just generally endear them to me. Also, definitely have a #1 for books and movies–Goblet of Fire. In this particular go around, I’ve been replaying a line from the first movie in my mind, one that’s just cool, that foreshadows so much, and that I’ve decided applies to my life right now by a sort of convoluted rationale. But.

First, let me say that this is in no way intended to be an explanation of fate, my beliefs on predestination, or anything remotely of the sort. Instead, please understand this as a metaphor for things that I don’t really grasp and don’t really feel the need to.

So here’s the thing: I’ve gotten a job. I hesitated to say anything earlier because I felt (still feel) like it can’t be true. Something will go wrong, most likely a mistake on my part. Because after so many applications I struggle to believe that I’m employable. But anyway, I definitely am and I know it. I won’t go into that too much because it just makes me too ugh. What I want to say, though, is that I have applied to approximately eight million jobs, in twenty seven fields, in (literally, actually) five countries. And in those eight million applications, as one might expect, were not only jobs that I don’t think I would like (it’s my first job, that’s fine) but also jobs doing things I really had no intention of doing ever in my life. And so, of course, that’s the job I got.

In the next couple months (hopefully), I will be moving to an as-yet unspecified location in the Republic of Korea to teach English to middle and/or high school aged students. The contract is for one year, possibly renewable. And so.

It feels a bit like impending doom because I have actually no idea what to expect. I know very, very little about the country/language/culture/everything (except for the food which I have sampled many times in my life and heartily approve of with the prominent exception of kimchi). Also, I’m not certain I really want to teach. Or teach English, at least. Or, at least, in South Korea. But I’m staying positive about the whole thing for several reasons:

  1. It will be cool to see a totally different part of the world than I have heretofore seen.
  2. The pay is decent and I really need an actual job.
  3. I like students. Mostly. I think.
  4. Friends, family, and God will not desert me if I’m a miserable failure at it.
  5. No experience is ever wasted.
  6. It is actually pertinent to other things I want to do, definitely a solid résumé builder at the very least.
  7. I’m 22 and it’s only one year.

There you have it. It’s a bit of a shocker to me still, but it is what it is. And don’t get me wrong, I’m definitely excited about it too. There are so many possibilities for this to be a really cool, if unexpected, journey and I look forward to seeing where all this road may go. Certainly, I must always be on my guard against default cynicism and skepticism, but I’ve done a fair bit of traveling in my life thus far and I feel like I’m pretty game for taking risks and trying everything. So I’ll definitely be eating unknown food; been there, done that, still alive. And I do like working with students, and language, so here’s hoping.

Anyway, my point is this: October 2016 and I would not have believed this was where I was going. And here I am. Going into unknown territory in more than one sense. And as much as I like to know things ahead of time and as much as I consider myself a homebody, when it comes down to it, I will always choose the horizon over the harbor.

The wand chooses the wizard. It’s not always clear why.

With that, I leave you until next week.

Leave a Reply

