When the Rest is Dust

Happy first day of autumn! The weather here has been sunny, which is nice, but also sort of disorienting. I’m ready to get back to sweater weather but the meteorological forces of the Puget Sound don’t seem quite inclined to give up summer yet. I don’t want to say I’m tired of the sun (because that’s definitely not the case) but I don’t think I’d complain if we got back to cold and rainy real soon. Anyway, whatever your weather is (I guess it’s spring for some of my readers), I hope you’re enjoying it.

Last Friday saw some actual doings to vary the otherwise generally placid habits I’ve developed since being home. A friend was kind enough to accompany me to a so-called Chocolate Garage Sale and we treated ourselves to some discount chocolate from a fun local company clearing stock for the holiday season. We then went to see another friend in a community theater production of Little Shop of Horrors which was a lovely conclusion to the day.

I also got together with some friends for baking-based fun in the form of muffins (banana-nut) and upsidedown quince tart. Somehow, baking things with me became a thing that some of my friends believe will result in good times. Which, I mean, the times are always good. The baked goods aren’t always… But it’s the fun that matters, right? I’m going with yes. And in the cases this week, the baked goods were both delicious and pretty simple, so we’re in the clear. I had never had quince before, but I wholly approve. They’re sort of halfway between apples and pears and they’re inedible raw. When cooked, they ‘blush’ and turn red, which is kind of fun. You should give them a try.

Camaro2016-9-21.jpg

Isn’t she precious, enjoying her little pool of sunshine?

In other news, there’s not much other news.

Some among you may recall a post from a few months ago regarding the state of no-news. That post mostly talked about the importance of keeping up with yourself in addition to keeping up with world news. Today, I have a slightly different angle on no-newsiness.

I have decided that I have, in fact, a great deal of news. It’s just baby news. It’s still incubating. It’s all tremendously exciting: I’m moving to a new town, I’m getting a great job, I’m making cool new friends, things are working out pretty well. Or, if not pretty well, they’re at least moving ahead. I know that I have all these thrills (and more) to look forward to, as well as the darker times and the difficulties these developments may well imply. They’re just coming attractions still chugging down the track toward me.

Here’s hoping they arrive sooner rather than later. But who can say? All that I know is that they’re on their way and, one way or another, they’re going to change everything. This is big news, people.

I think I’m finding this a more pleasant way to deal with the great void of nothingness in front of me. Instead of endlessly musing on all the unknowns and the unfortunate and continued silence from potential employers, I’m focusing on the someday. I don’t have all the details, our connection’s a bit staticy, but important somethings are on their way. For now, I think, that needs to be enough. The Do-Things-With-Your-Life wagon is a-comin’ down the street and I know it’s got something for me. Whenever it arrives, at least.

Anyway, there’s that. I’ll leave you with the penultimate playlist of the month. This week has rather a lot of variety, but I think all the selections are worth a listen and several of them I’ve been playing a little obsessively. I hope you at least give it a once-through.

  1. Plain Sight – Kita Alexandra
  2. I Think We’re Alone Now – Tommy James and the Shondells
  3. Out of Mind – Magic Man
  4. Love is Blind – Låpsley
  5. Run to You – Pentatonix
  6. Life Itself – Glass Animals
  7. Two Birds – Regina Spektor
  8. Paper Hearts – Tori Kelly
  9. Penny Lane – The Beatles
  10. Love and Us – Sam Tsui
2 thoughts on “When the Rest is Dust

Leave a Reply

