C’mon Gang

I was a little apprehensive about my first post-Ireland entry here, but it seems to have been well received. Or well enough, leastways. I know I keep saying that I’d keep this blog up regardless, but it’s nice to know that people enjoy what I write. So thanks for sticking with me.

bubba2016-9-9

Finally managed to get another picture of him

I’m still having to remind myself, sometimes, how soft and wonderful and amazing cats are. I haven’t quite gotten used to being around cats all the time once more. Loving it.

The weather this week took a surprising turn for the gorgeous so I’ve been spending as much time outside as possible. Obviously, this involves a great deal of reading in the sun. I’ve just finished Jane Austen’s Emma, what a delightful read. I had watched the BBC miniseries on Netflix and determined to read it–along with a few other similar era adaptations. I also read the wonderful Doctor Thorne after watching the series on Amazon, it is so good, I highly recommend it. It’s directed, I believe, by the same guy who did Downton Abbey, it’s his favorite book.  Then I have some lighter fantasy (and a biography of Ludwig II of Bavaria) before tackling the very intimidating Demons by Dostoyevsky.

I think I have intimated to you before my love of books and of reading. This biography should be interesting, as I think the last biography I read was Hellen Keller in like third grade. Clearly it’s not my genre of choice, but Ludwig II is an interesting enough character, I think, to make it very much worth while. The book itself is called The Swan King and I have pretty high expectations. I’ll keep you updated. And I love being able to breeze through really good fantasy and struggle through high-literature classics. Variety is the spice of life and, as I once read, the jury is no longer out on classics; whether or not you like them, they are quality books.

I expect that Demons will keep me occupied for some time so you’ll probably get periodic asides on it rather like when I read The Count of Monte Cristo. Look forward to those 😉 Though they will likely be even more unintelligible than the previous, if my experience with Dostoyevsky is anything to go by. I’m sure I’ll sound quite insane. I am, but that’s beside the point. He’s even more crazy, so don’t blame me for his madness above and beyond my own.

Anyway, not much else to report this week other than the stunning weather.  Time goes on, as it is wont to do, and I’m still here. We’ll see where I am next week, though I’m in doubt of any substantive change. Who knows.

Here’s the week’s playlist, hope you like it. And, to be clear, the last song made it onto this list while I wasn’t writing my dissertation, though I suppose it’s equally relevant in terms of job hunting. But also I just like the song, okay?

For your listening pleasure:

  1. Bugs Don’t Buzz – Majical Cloudz
  2. Hero/Heroine – Boys Like Girls
  3. That Old Gang of Mine – Perry Como
  4. Please Don’t Go – Joel Adams
  5. Gold – Gabriel Rios
  6. Clay – HANA
  7. Fred Astaire – San Cisco
  8. Dear No One – Tori Kelly
  9. A Little’s Enough – Angels & Airwaves
  10. All We Do – Oh Wonder
Leave a Reply

