No News is Good News

This week has been pretty mundane. I have loads more reading to do for my dissertation, surprise, and other than that not much has happened. I did finally watch Django Unchained on Netflix, would recommend. There are lots of other movies, both recent and classic, that I’ve been meaning to watch but haven’t. I’m generally more into shows than movies because there’s just more to them, you know? Not that I don’t like movies. Anyway.

The great Irish heatwave of 2016 was, in the event, two days of gorgeous weather followed by several days which were, while still warm, overcast and rainy and just generally sort of gloomy. Now the forecast calls for more sun and pleasant temperatures this weekend, so here’s hoping. Dublin, much like Gig Harbor, doesn’t have loads and loads of nice days, but I’ll take a nice day here (or there) over one in D.C. no question. There’s something about it. And, of course, they’re all the more precious for being irregular. The sun shines somehow clearer after it’s been long hidden. The air feels warmer after the true, damp chill of a Dublin winter.

Bubba2016-5-11

Bubba wants to come visit. For the sun, I’m sure.

Congratulations are in order for all my friends who have been graduating recently. You’re so cool, yay for you!! I have some pretty cool friends and I know that they’re going to be doing some pretty incredible things in the coming years (I know since they’ve been doing incredible things already). Anyway, have fun with that adult thing, I think I’m going to give it a miss.

Some of you may be aware of the significance (or, rather, insignificance) of  18 April, 1930. On that day, the BBC’s evening news report was as follows: “There is no news.” The rest of the broadcast was simply piano music. I read a little article this week that highlighted the importance of sometimes just listening to that piano music. The world is covered in news, now perhaps even more so than in 1930–or at least, we have better access to it. But at some point, we have to admit that a great deal of the news we consume doesn’t matter much. And, even when it does matter, a constant stream of endlessly depressing stories about the depravity of human nature is trying to the soul. Sometimes, we just need to play out the evening with something other than earthshattering events.

This week, I don’t have much news for you. And perhaps that’s for the best. Of course, it’s no good to totally tune out the news. As much as the ostrich might see with its head in the sand, it’s probably better to be up and looking around. But by the same token, we need to allow ourselves a little break in keeping up with things in order to keep up with ourselves. So I hope you give yourself a break, a few moments of peace, some time to pause thoughtfully. Sometimes, I’ve found, taking a step back is the best way to move forward.

I didn’t get loads of feedback on my playlist last week (I didn’t mean that to sound so passive aggressive but…), but I’m really enjoying coming up with these. And I’m listening to loads of new music. So I’m going to keep doing them. Also, I do try to put them in order, one way or another, so you could listen to it like an on-purpose playlist. Maybe this week, I can provide a little piano music for your evening news (though perhaps not to the taste of the 1930 BBC). Anyway. Here’s the second installment.

  1. Never Be Alone – Shawn Mendes
  2. My Gospel – Charlie Puth
  3. Man in the Mirror – Michael Jackson
  4. This is Your Life – Switchfoot
  5. Midnight Train to Georgia – Gladys Knight and the Pips
  6. Dark Blue – Jack’s Mannequin
  7. Sevgilim – Kıraç
  8. Us – Regina Spektor
  9. ILYSB – LANY
  10. Without You – Oh Wonder
2 thoughts on “No News is Good News

Leave a Reply

