I Want to Blizzard

Anyone else uncomfortable with how similar the words parson and parsnip are? And are just uncomfortable with the word parse, generally? Raise your hands (FYI, raising my hand). I thought that was sort of urgent. Don’t judge me. I think this week’s post, in following with last week’s spirit of silliness, will be a collection of immensely random things. Also, my life is random.

So, finished the first week of classes but still haven’t had two. One doesn’t start until next week and the other, in lieu of class this week, we attended a conference on Islamophobia and anti-Muslim racism. The conference was really good, got to hear firsthand about what people are experiencing and what others are doing to combat it. A lot of the stuff we’ve sort of been talking about all year, but it was good. There was also free lunch. Otherwise, classes have been off to a great start. I really think I’m going to love the one on education, should be super interesting. We have a different professor for research methods and the structure is radically different–basically, it’s just to support us as much as possible in writing our dissertations. So while my confidence in myself has not increased, my confidence in the institutional process has. So there’s that.

Some of you may be aware that there’s a ginormous blizzard headed straight for D.C. While car accidents and hypothermia are bad things, I’m sort of bummed to be missing it. I love snow, and storms, and snow storms. Also, D.C. is hilarious when it comes to weather because the city really just can’t handle it. My final winter in D.C. we got some decent snow and it got really cold (which is awful to be in but awesome to experience from inside a warm apartment) but this is definitely going to surpass that. So I’m a little jealous, no one’s perfect. To all my readers and friends in D.C.–take luck! And take pictures. And get everything you can out of it because I want to blizzard vicariously through you. Also, important aside, it should always and forever be referred to as D.C. and never Washington because the other Washington is more important and better in every way. When people argue with me about this, I land the low punch and ask them which Washington has voting representation in Congress and they usually go quiet. Don’t do that, though, it’s mean to people who live in D.C.

Had a lovely weekend. On Friday I did, in fact, visit that museum and it was lovely. Very eclectic, but enjoyable. Housed in an old military barracks. I went rather early in the morning, just after opening, and it was very cold and frosty/icy. When I entered the main gate and walked into the courtyard, I was totally alone in this huge space glittering in the pale light just peeking above the clocktower. It was cool, so was the museum.

Also this weekend, I saw the movie Brooklyn with some friends–highly recommend. It’s up for two Oscars at least (Best Picture and Best Actress) and they are richly deserved. I also had Sunday lunch with some people from church and it was, as always, lovely. A great deal of laughing was involved.

Also, categories that I have no problem identifying favorites: animals. No question #1 Musk-Ox #2 Narwhal #3 Walrus. Not certain, but giraffe and owl are probably #4 and #5 respectively. Also, in the movie category, for those of you who were uncomfortable with my inclusion of Australia, I take it back and replace it with Moulin Rouge which I can’t imagine what temporary insanity possessed me to leave out in the first place.

In some ways, for me, the highest form of flattery is rereading. Obviously, this isn’t true for things that aren’t written and it doesn’t hold true even in all cases of written things. But. I’m a rereader. There are some things that I reread because they bring back a feeling either inspired by what’s written or because it reminds me of something else that was going on when I first read it. Other things I reread because I cherish them. They may not necessarily be superb writing, or even express important things, I simply love them, the way I love Kinza teriyaki, regardless of how the taste compares with what others might mistakenly call better teriyaki. Some things I do reread because they are excellently written and/or express meaningful, insightful, and important things–unfortunately many of these reside in the ‘classics’ and in lieu of rereading the entire gazillion pages, I often turn to Wikiquote to get my fix. Still other things I reread because I can’t survive without doing so. Some things are so important, so inside of me, so something that they sustain me. Help me, heal me. And I hope that everyone has some words like that. Maybe from a friend. Maybe from a book. Maybe from the Bible. Or a combination thereof. I don’t know, maybe other people get something similar from another source. But I am convinced that everyone needs it, whether they reread it or not.

So there are some observations, happenings, and musings for the week. No promises on this one, I’ve had a long day and sort of just want to cozy up and Netflix into the wee hours of the morning. Until next time, then.

2 thoughts on “I Want to Blizzard

Leave a Reply

