Oíche Chiúin

Ah, Christmas Eve! Merry Christmas to you all! I am home and have spent my time with friends and family, enjoying the opportunity to catch up and to do nothing. I hosted my annual Christmas party for my friends, always a delight, and according to tradition, we decorated gingerbread houses and watched Nestor the Long-Eared Christmas Donkey, at once the best and worst Christmas movie ever made. Anyway, it is Christmas Eve, so I’ll keep this post fairly short.

Of course, a major highlight of being home has been snuggling with the cats who, having obviously been missing me for three months, have been making up for lost time.

Bubba2015-12-24Bubba2015-12-24-2Camaro2015-12-24Camaro2015-12-24-2

The Irish for this week (EE-huh kyoon) means silent night and I hope that you all experience a bit of silence tonight in the midst of whatever you’ve been up to this holiday season.

Some readers may recall that December is National (Re)Read The Phantom Tollbooth Month. It is, of course, an absolutely wonderful book that teaches more with every reading and which is amply appropriate for every age. At one point, a character says, “You’ll find that the only thing you can do easily is be wrong, and that’s hardly worth the effort.” Often, doing good is hard; doing right is hard. The great Albus Dumbledore said, “Soon we must all face the choice between what is right and what is easy.” While it’s true that some good things are easy, I’ve found that a great many are difficult. I think that’s something to bear in mind at Christmas–Jesus’ life was perfectly right and good, but it was also incredibly difficult and often painful. He both gives us an example to follow and the strength to live like we otherwise would be unable to.

I leave you this Christmas Eve with my last carol quotation, one that has long been my favorite and which says everything I wanted to say in this post with far fewer words.

Truly he taught us to love one another.

His law is love and his gospel is peace.

Leave a Reply

