Fáilte

So here I am. In Dublin. Yay!

I didn’t write a post immediately upon arrival because my first few days were a lethargic mixture of tired, hungry, anxious, and terrified. Truth be told, I felt a little ill. This stems mostly from the fact that, while I had finally secured a place to live a couple days before I left, I wasn’t able to move in immediately because paying rent from another country is tricky. It was a whole thing arranging things with the landlady and setting everything up. But anyway, here I am, still alive, and set to move in hopefully by Monday. Then a couple weeks of looking for a part-time job, orientation, and classes start at the end of the month.

Ireland. Dublin. It’s a lot. Luckily for you guys, I have a whole year (at least) to describe it, so you’ll get it in manageable doses.

First, Dublin literally means overcast and chilly (misuse of literally, it actually means Black Pool). But all you Washingtonians will appreciate the fact that it’s very grey, always a chance of rain, and just generally “mild” in the worst sense of the word. And when it rains, sometimes it pours, but often it’s just a drizzle, or an inconsistent sprinkle, or a fine mist. It’s very much like Gig Harbor but a little colder in the summers and warmer in the winters. The average annual temperature variation is something like 65 – 45 (that may not really be accurate, but it’s thereabouts. I’m too lazy to look it up just now. You can–you’re obviously on a computer). Anyway, all that’s to say that I love it. Sweater weather all year round and green (surprise, Ireland is green).

Also, you can all sleep soundly, I have found a place that bakes pasties. An explanation on pasties (probably more than you really wanted to know but I don’t care, I love them). First, it’s pasty rhyming with fast-y, not pasty rhyming with tasty. Second, they were invented in Cornwall and I first indulged in them while studying in England at the University of Exeter (in Devon, the county adjacent to Cornwall). Basically, they’re a bit like English calzones, so that crust/pastry thing traditionally filled with potatoes, beef, and rutabagas (there’s a whole thing about alternative terms for rutabagas in England, but I won’t go into that now). Other varieties exist, like lamb & mint and steak & stilton. Suffice to say, they’re delicious and I love them. They’re not really a thing in Ireland, but I’ve found my place, so there’s that.

So the title of this post is ‘welcome’ in Irish (not Gaelic, Irish) and it’s pronounced Fall-chuh. Irish spelling and pronunciation are the absolute worst. Exhibit B: the Republic of Ireland (the southern, Catholic, most of the island part) is Poblacht na hÉireann. Yes, that is a lower case h in front of an upper case E. Because Irish is the worst. Of course, I still love it because it’s awesome and I love basically all minority languages. Fun fact, Irish is the most spoken Celtic language, both by population and proportion of population. The other Celtic languages are Scottish Gaelic (spoken in Scotland), Manx (spoken on the Isle of Mann), Welsh (spoken in Wales), Cornish (spoken in Cornwall), and Breton (spoken in Brittany). So that was a ginormous tangent, but I don’t care because minority languages yay!

I would be writing about my experiences in Ireland but, to this point, I haven’t really had any. I’ve just been wandering around the city, orienting my self, revisiting the sights I saw when I was here a couple years ago (which is to say, spring before last), and watching Netflix–which is the worst because most of my shows aren’t on Irish Netflix.

But anyway, there you have it. A bit of a disappointment in terms of first blog posts from a foreign country, but it’s honest and that’s all I can do. To make it worth your while, here are some pictures of the cutest cat in her cutest pose. I call it the “Don’t look at me world, I’m too shy.”

Camaro1-2015-9-4 Camaro2-2015-9-4 Camaro3-2015-9-4

Until next time, then, that’s all I have for you.

Leave a Reply

